All you need to know about Dubai Duty-Free Tennis 2021

When moving to District One Villas Dubai, you would not want to miss out on Dubai Duty-Free Tennis 2021!

The Dubai Duty-Free Tennis Championships, the region’s largest tennis tournament, will return in 2021. Present World No. 1 Ashleigh Barty and defending participant Simona Halep have also announced their inclusion in the women’s tournament. In reality, nine of the world’s top ten female players will compete for the valuable award.

The men’s squad is yet to be revealed. Novak Djokovic won the Men’s Championship last year, but expect a plethora of big names when the male contestants are announced. Continue reading to see how you can watch all of the games from the 2021 Tennis Championship in Dubai!

All to know about Dubai Duty-Free Tennis 2021

This tennis tournament in Dubai, hosted and operated by Dubai Duty-Free, is a much-anticipated yearly sports event in the UAE. The Dubai Tennis Championship consists of two events: a WTA Premier 5 women’s event and an ATP 500 men’s event. The Dubai Duty-Free Tennis Championship has also attracted A-list tennis stars from around the world.

Serena Williams, Venus Williams, Rafael Nadal, Andre Agassi, Andy Murray, Boris Becker, Martina Hingis, and Caroline Wozniacki have all played in front of sell-out audiences at the Dubai Duty-Free Tennis Stadium over the past years. This year would be no exception.

A look at Dubai Duty-Free Tennis 2021

Before we get into the particulars of the 2021 Dubai Tennis Championship, let’s take a look at the Dubai Duty-Free Tennis dates, venues, and times.

  • Days for Dubai Duty-Free Tennis 2021: March 7th to March 20th, 2021
  • Timings for the Dubai Tennis Championships: It is based on the match timetable.
  • Tennis at Dubai Duty-Free is held at the following location: Al Garhoud Tennis Stadium – Dubai Duty-Free
  • Tickets for the Dubai Tennis Championships are available now. Owing to the current Covid-19 pandemic, this year’s competitions will be spectator-free.

We should foresee the top players from the field of professional tennis to play in this year’s draw, much as they did last year. On the WTA front, we even recognize that nine of the top ten players in the world and 17 of the top 20 will be vying for supremacy.

The history of the tournament

The Dubai Duty-Free Tennis Championships started in 1993 as the Dubai Men’s Open, with Karel Novacek winning the singles and Anders Jarryd / John Fitzgerald winning the doubles.

From the initial competition, the Championships have increased in strength and success.

Players such as Goran Ivanisevic, Juan Carlos Ferrero, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Martina Hingis, Amelie Mauresmo, and Justin Henin have played across both the men’s and women’s tournaments (the latter of which started in 2001).

As the 27th anniversary is commemorated this year, let us have a look back at some of the incredible matches that have happened.


Karel Novacek of the Czech Republic wins the singles lbel, while Jarryd/John Fitzgerald of Australia and Sweden take the debut doubles label.


Thomas Muster, nicknamed “the King of Clay,” captured the Dubai award the same month he clinched the ATP World No. 1 ranking. Muster was victorious over the former Dubai champion. In the final, Goran Ivanisevic lost two sets.

Ivanisevic, on the other hand, built on his singles final results by capturing the doubles title with Sander Groen. In the final, they defeated Sandon Stolle and Cyril Suk.


Belinda Bencic secured her first big championship since 2015, beating four top-10 competitors to become just the third unseeded player to conquer the tournament. Bencic beat Petra Kvitova 6-3 1-6 6-2 after a week of interesting games.

Su-Wei Hsieh and Barbora Strycova won the doubles match, beating Lucie Hradecka and Ekaterina Makarova 6-4 6-4. Hsieh also competed with Peng Shuai in the 2018 final, and it was her first-ever title with Strycova since they won Indian Wells in March 2018.

After a week of exciting matches, Federer beat Tsitsipas 6-4 6-4 to win his 100th singles label and his eighth label at the Dubai Duty-Free Tennis Championships.

Rajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury won the doubles title by beating Ben McLachlan and Jan-Lennard Struff 7-6 6-3. The couple, who had just partnered up for the first time at the start of the season, were in their second final of the year after finishing second in Brisbane.

These were some of the most exciting things that you must know about Dubai Duty-Free Tennis 2021. Find the best luxury villas for sale in Dubai and enjoy this championship fully!